Alan Thomas teaching at OISE
Alan Thomas and Gordon Selman at the CAROLD 2006 meeting, Vancouver

Alan Thomas

In 2001, the CASAE Alan Thomas Student Paper Award was launched in honor of Professor Alan Thomas (1928 – 2009). It is given to the author of the best student paper(s) at the annual CASAE conference.

Alan Thomas was a well loved and well known Canadian adult educator who made many contributions to the field including distinguishing learning from education and thus putting the emphasis on adult learners, rather than institutions. He had a joint appointment between the Extension Department and the Faculty of Education at UBC where he developed the first graduate program in adult education at UBC (which started in 1957). From 1953, he also worked for the Canadian Association for Adult Education (CAAE), becoming the Executive Director in 1961. He was also involved with the development of the Canadian Association of University Continuing Education (CAUCE) and the Association of Community Colleges in Canada (ACCC). In the early 1970s he became Chair of the Department of Adult Education at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE). In addition to his academic contributions, he was involved with conference organizing, policy development, federal politics as well as broadcasting. Working in collaboration with CBC, he spearheaded the development of a three hour ‘reality’ show called People Talking Back. ‘In 1982 he received the Order of Canada. He was one of the founding directors of The Carold Institute, an organization dedicated to supporting the advancement of democratic citizenship and social change.

Award Recipients

2023: Emily Dobrich
2022: Shurla Charles-Forbes & José Wellington Sousa
2021: Adam Baden-Clay
2020: No award
2019: Kay Johnson
2018: Ghazala Ahmed
2017: Matthew Bailey-Dick
2016: Annie Luk & Judy Perry
2015: Matthew Bailey-Dick
2014: Catherine Baillie Abidi
2013: Stacy Crooks, Joseph Sawan & Jonathan Fisher
2012: Lisa Stowe
2011: Tara Gibb & Robert Mizzi
2010: Emily Paradis
2009: Kate Murray
2008: Rebecca Cory
2007: Kaela Jubas & Tanya Brann-Barrett
2006: Mary Rykov
2005: Christine Pinsent Johnson
2004: Isabeau Iqbal & Janice Acton
2003: Kristopher Wells
2002: Bijoy Barua
2001: John Egan

About Us

CASAE/ACÉÉA has played an active role in advocating adult education as a field of study and practice at both national and international levels.

Contact Info

260 Dalhousie Street
Suite 204
Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E4

Telephone: (613) 241.0018
Fax: (613) 241.0019

© Copyright 2020-2022 CASAE * ACÉÉA | All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Website by Windrose Web Design