CASAE Logo

 

Canadian Association for the Study of Adult Education

 

CALL FOR PROPOSALS FOR PAPERS, ROUND TABLES, AND SYMPOSIA

 

Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences Theme:

Capital Connections:  Nation, Terroir, Territoire

 

28th Annual Conference

May 25 to 27, 2009

Carleton University

Ottawa, Ontario

 

Due Date for Proposals: November 30, 2008

 

Since its formation in 1981, CASAE has served as a context within which we have explored adult education as a reflective and critical practice. This year the CASAE theme is Spaces/Places: Exploring the Boundaries of Adult Education. Follow the national listserv for details about the conference and pre-conference as they unfold (www.oise.utoronto.ca/CASAE/).

 

 

Types of Proposals

Proposals are invited for papers, research roundtables, and symposia on one or more suggested themes.

 

 

Paper Proposals Papers are reports of completed research to be published in the conference proceedings. Papers may present empirical research, model or theory development, or theorizing from the literature. Please follow these guidelines for structuring your proposal:

 

First page: a cover sheet that includes the paper title, the name, address, phone and fax numbers, and e-mail address of each author, and a signed warrant statement.

 

♦ Second & third page: typed two-page abstract, not to exceed 1,000 words. At the top of the page include the title but OMIT NAMES OF AUTHORS and whether the research is completed (or the anticipated date of completion).

 

 

Research Roundtable Proposals Research roundtables provide an opportunity to discuss informally research in progress and research issues with a group of participants. A two-page summary of each research roundtable will be published in the conference proceedings. Please follow these guidelines for structuring your proposal:

 

First page: provide a cover sheet that includes the roundtable title, the name, address, phone and fax numbers, and e-mail address of each presenter, and a signed warrant statement.

 

♦ Second page: a one-page abstract, not to exceed 600 words. State the roundtable title at the top of the first page BUT OMIT ALL AUTHORS’ NAMES.

 

 

Symposium Proposals A symposium presents diverse or conflicting perspectives that inspire deliberation on a compelling topic or issue that is or should be of concern to adult education researchers. Please follow these guidelines for structuring your proposal:

 

First page: a cover sheet that includes the name, address, phone and fax numbers, and e-mail address of the organizer and each presenter, and a signed warrant statement.

 

♦ Remaining pages: include a one-page abstract, not to exceed 500 words followed by 250 word abstracts from each presenter which provide details of the specific presentations linked to the symposium abstract. Put title of the symposium at the top of the page but OMIT ALL AUTHORS’ NAMES.

 

 

Formatting and Submitting Proposals Allow 1" (2.5 cm) margins and use at least 12 pt. type, preferably in Times New Roman. Citations should be provided in the text, although a reference list is not necessary. NO author names or institutional affiliations should appear in the abstract.

All proposals must be received via email attachment by November 30, 2008

(Microsoft Word or PDF format only please)

 

Paper, roundtable and symposium proposals should be emailed to:

Dr. Nancy Taber

Brock University

E-mail: ntaber@brocku.ca

St. Catharines, ON

Phone: (905) 688-5550 ext 4218

 

Warrant Statement for All Proposals

”I [we] warrant that if my [our] paper [or roundtable or symposium] proposal is accepted, I [we] will submit a formally written summary for inclusion in the conference proceedings. I [we] agree that the summary will be typed, single-spaced, and ____ pages long [six pages for papers, two pages for roundtables, eight pages for symposia].

"I [we] understand that if this summary is not submitted by April 1, 2009, my [our] presentation will not be included as part of CASAE 2009.”

Signature: _____________________________________

 

 

Session Format and Selection Criteria

Papers The time allotted for each single paper session is 50 minutes. If there are papers with strong links they will be included in a multiple paper session lasting 1.5 to 2 hours. Identify the paper as (a) empirical, (b) model or theory development, or (c) theorizing from the literature. Abstracts should be typed as noted in the above instructions.

 

 

a. The empirical research paper should adequately describe:

 

Purpose of study: What does it contribute?

 

♦ Perspective or theoretical framework, including relevant literature.

 

♦ Research design (including rationale for choice of methodology, research questions, modes of data collection and analysis).

 

♦ Findings and conclusions.

 

♦ Implications for adult education theory and practice.

 

 

b. Papers developing a model or theory should address:

 

What practical or theoretical void will this model or theory fill with respect to adult education?

 

♦ What are your bases for proposing this model or theory (experience, literature, your own empirical research, etc.)?

 

♦ What are the elements of the model or theory and relationships among its elements?

 

♦ What is its relationship to existing theory?

 

 

c. Theorizing from the literature. These can be either explorations based on literature (reviews and/or critiques) or applications from one field to another that give us new insights about adult education. The following should be addressed in the abstract:

 

What is the purpose of this exploration or application?

 

♦ What fields of study, disciplinary perspectives, or bodies of literature are being analyzed?

 

♦ What are the implications for the development of adult education theory and practice?

 

 

If your paper is selected for presentation, you will be responsible for submitting a formally written six-page (single-spaced, typed) paper for inclusion in the conference proceedings.

Such papers must be received by April 1, 2009. Papers received after this date will not be included in the conference. Authors whose papers are accepted will be notified of the specifications for preparing and submitting papers.

 

 

Research Roundtables

The time allotted for each session is 50 minutes. Several roundtable discussions will take place concurrently in the same room with each presenter assigned to a different table.

 

Roundtables are opportunities to discuss research and research issues informally with interested conference participants.

 

♦ Abstracts should be typed as noted in the above instructions and should describe the purpose of the session, explain why it is important, provide any background information needed for the discussion and pose the questions or issues that will be addressed.

 

Roundtable proposals will be judged based on the importance of the research or issues they address and their potential to generate lively discussion and debate at the conference.

If your roundtable proposal is accepted, you will be responsible for submitting a formally written two-page (single-spaced, typed) summary for inclusion in the conference proceedings. This summary must be received by April 1, 2009. Summaries received after this date will not be included in the conference.

 

 

Symposia

A symposium provides an opportunity to examine specific problems or topics from various perspectives. This purpose is best served when individuals with diverse or conflicting views interact on a topic of sufficient scope and importance. A symposium should not be merely a presentation of a related set of papers. Each symposium will last 90 minutes. Audience participation is encouraged.

 

It is the responsibility of organizers of symposia to identify topics and presenters. Organizers must have the consent of all participants before submitting the proposal. Organizers not wishing to chair the session must indicate a chairperson. Should unforeseen circumstances prevent a participant from attending, it is the responsibility of the organizer to: (1) find a suitable replacement; and (2) notify the CASAE proposal receiver and all other participants and discussants involved in the session to enable them to have prior access to abstracts of each presentation so they may formulate their remarks in the context of what the others plan to say. Organizers are urged to encourage such an exchange of information.

Only the organizer will be notified of the acceptance of a symposium, and is responsible for notifying other participants. Symposia should address the following:

 

What is the controversial issue or topic being addressed? Why should adult educators care about this matter?

 

♦ What are the competing perspectives (including related bodies of literature) from which this issue will be addressed?

 

♦ On what basis does each panelist hold his/her perspective (experience, literature, one’s own empirical research)?

 

♦ What action plan or policy implications are likely to emerge from this examination?

 

If the symposium abstract is selected, the organizer is responsible for submitting a formally written eight-page (single-spaced, typed) paper for inclusion in the conference proceedings. Such papers must be received by April 1, 2009, or the symposium will not be included in the conference.

 

CASAE 2009 is one of the associated meetings of the Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences. More information on Congress 2009 can be found at:

http://www.fedcan.ca/congress2009/

 

Return to our Home Page

 

Return to the National Conference Information Centre

CASAE Logo

 

 

Association canadienne pour l’étude de l’éducation des adultes

 

 

APPEL DE PROPOSITIONS POUR DES COMMUNICATIONS, DES TABLES RONDES ET DES COLLOQUES

 

 

 

THÈME DU CONGRÈS DES SCIENCES HUMAINES : 

CAPITAL CONNECTIONS : NATION, TERROIR, TERRITOIRE

 

 

 

28e congrès annuel

25 – 27 mai 2009

Université Carleton

Ottawa, Ontario

 

Date limite pour la réception des propositions : le 30 novembre 2008.

 

Depuis sa création en 1981, l’ACÉÉA favorise l’exploration de l’andragogie en tant que pratique réflexive et critique.  Le thème du congrès de 2009 de l’ACÉÉA est « Éspaces/Places : Explorant les limites de l’éducation des adultes ».  Veuillez rester à l’affût des messages électroniques de la liste de diffusion : d’autres détails au sujet du congrès et du précongrès vous seront envoyés à mesure qu’ils deviendront disponibles (www.oise.utoronto.ca/CASAE/).

 

Types de propositions

Les propositions relatives à des communications, à des tables rondes de chercheurs et à des colloques sur l’un ou l’autre ou plusieurs des thèmes suggérés sont les bienvenues.

 

Proposition d’une communication

Il doit s’agir de comptes rendus de recherches terminées ; ils seront publiés dans les actes du congrès.  La communication peut porter sur une recherche empirique, sur l’élaboration d’un modèle ou d’une théorie ou sur une théorie tirée de la littérature existante.  Veuillez suivre les directives suivantes lorsque vous structurez votre proposition :

 

¨      Première page : une page de couverture qui comprend le titre de la communication, le nom, l’adresse, le numéro de téléphone, le numéro de télécopieur et l’adresse de courriel de chaque auteur ainsi qu’une attestation signée

 

¨      Deuxième et troisièmes pages : un résumé dactylographié de deux pages, d’au maximum 1000 mots.  En haut de la page, inscrivez le titre, mais OMETTEZ LES NOMS DES AUTEURS et indiquez si la recherche est terminée (ou la date à laquelle vous prévoyez qu’elle sera terminée).

 

Proposition d’une table ronde de chercheurs

Ce type de table ronde fournit l’occasion de discuter de manière informelle de recherches qui sont en cours et de thèmes de recherche avec un groupe de participants.  Un résumé de deux pages de chaque table ronde sera publié dans les actes du congrès.  Veuillez suivre les directives suivantes lorsque vous structurez votre proposition :

 

¨      Première page : une page de couverture qui comprend le titre de la table ronde, le nom, l’adresse, le numéro de téléphone, le numéro de télécopieur et l’adresse de courriel de chaque participant ainsi qu’une attestation signée.

 

¨      Deuxième page : un résumé dactylographié d’une page, d’au maximum 600 mots.  Inscrivez le titre de la table ronde en haut de la page, mais OMETTEZ LES NOMS DES PARTICIPANTS.

 

Proposition d’un colloque

Le colloque devrait présenter des délibérations à partir de points divers ou conflictuels sur un sujet qui est ou devrait être incontournable pour des andragogues.  Veuillez suivre les directives suivantes lorsque vous structurez votre proposition :

 

¨      Première page : une page de couverture qui comprend le nom, l’adresse, le numéro de téléphone, le numéro de télécopieur et l’adresse de courriel de l’organisateur et de chaque participant ainsi qu’une attestation signée.

 

¨      Autres pages : un résumé d’une page, d’au maximum 500 mots, sur le colloque, suivi du résumé de 250 mots de chaque participant, lequel fournit des détails sur son exposé en lien avec le résumé au sujet du colloque.  Inscrivez le titre du colloque en haut de la page, mais OMETTEZ <span style="font‑family: Times New Roman">LES NOMS DES PARTICIPANTS.

 

Format  et envoi des propositions
Laissez des marges de 1 po (2,5 cm) et utilisez de préférence la police Times New Roman en 12 points. Les citations doivent faire partie du texte ; une liste de références n’est pas nécessaire.  AUCUN nom d’auteur ou d’institution ne doit apparaître sur le résumé.

 

Toutes les propositions doivent nous parvenir par courriel sous la forme d’un fichier joint d’ici le 30 novembre 2008.

(Format Microsoft Word ou PDF seulement s.v.p.)

 

Les propositions, qu’elles aient trait à une communication, à une table ronde ou à un colloque, doivent être envoyées par courriel à :

 

Nancy Taber, Ph. D.

Université Brock

Courriel : ntaber@brocku.ca

St. Catharines, Ontario

Téléphone: (905) 688-5550 poste 4218

 

Attestation à signer pour toutes les propositions

 

« J’atteste [nous attestons] que si ma communication, ma table ronde ou mon colloque [notre communication, table ronde ou colloque] est accepté[e], je vais [nous allons] soumettre un résumé en bonne et due forme pour qu’il soit inclus dans les actes du congrès.  Il est entendu que le résumé sera dactylographié, à simple interligne, et qu’il sera d’une longueur de  ____ pages [six pages pour une communication, deux pages pour une table ronde, huit pages pour un colloque]. 

 

Il est également entendu que si ce résumé n’est pas soumis d’ici le 1er avril 2009, ma [ notre] présentation ne sera pas incluse dans le congrès 2009 de l’ACÉÉA). »

 

Signature : _____________________________________

 

Format des séances et critères de sélection

 

Communications

Le temps alloué à chaque séance faisant place à une seule communication est de 50 minutes.  S’il y a des liens étroits entre des communications, celles-ci seront regroupées dans une même séance qui durera de 1 ½ à 2 heures.  Veuillez indiquer si la communication présente (a) une recherche empirique, (b) l’élaboration d’un modèle ou d’une théorie , ou (c) une théorie tirée de la littérature existante.  Les résumés devraient être dactylographiés en suivant les directives ci-dessous.

 

a.  Une communication portant sur une recherche empirique devrait décrire adéquatement les éléments suivants :

 

¨      le but de l’étude – son  apport ;

¨      la perspective ou le cadre théorique, incluant la littérature pertinente ;

¨      le modèle de recherche (incluant ce qui justifie le choix de la méthodologie, les questions posées ainsi que les modes de collecte et d’analyse des données) ;

¨      les observations et les conclusions ;

¨      les implications pour les théories et pratiques en andragogie.

 

b. Les communications présentant un modèle ou une théorie devraient traiter des questions suivantes :

 

¨      Quel vide pratique ou théorique ce modèle ou cette théorie vient-il remplir en andragogie ?

¨      Sur quoi vous reposez-vous pour proposer ce modèle ou cette théorie (expérience, littérature, votre propre recherche empirique, etc.) ?

¨      Quels sont les éléments du modèle ou de la théorie et les liens entre ces éléments ?

¨      Quel est son lien avec les théories existantes ?

 

c. Théorie tirée de la littérature.  Il peut s’agir d’explorations basées sur la littérature existante (recensions et/ou critiques) ou d’applications provenant d’un domaine et transférées à un autre et nous donnant de nouvelles connaissances au sujet de l’andragogie.  Le résumé devrait répondre aux questions suivantes :

 

¨      Quel est le but de cette exploration ou application ?

¨      Quels champs d’étude, perspectives disciplinaires ou littératures sont analysés ?

¨      Quelles sont les implications pour l’élaboration de théories et de pratiques en andragogie ?

 

Si votre communication est retenue, il vous incombera de soumettre un résumé en bonne et due forme de six pages (dactylographié à simple interligne) qui sera inclus dans les actes du congrès.  Date limite de l’envoi du résumé : le 1er avril 2009.

 

Les résumés reçus après cette date ne seront pas inclus dans le congrès.  Les auteurs dont les communications sont acceptées recevront des directives ayant trait à la préparation et à l’envoi des résumés.

 

Tables rondes de chercheurs

Le temps imparti pour chaque séance est de 50 minutes.  Plusieurs discussions en table ronde auront lieu en même temps dans la même salle, chaque animateur se voyant assigné une table donnée.</span>

 

¨      Les tables rondes sont des occasions de discuter de recherches et de questions de recherche avec d’autres congressistes intéressés.

¨      Les résumés doivent être dactylographiés conformément aux directives ci-dessus ; ils doivent décrire le but de la séance, expliquer son importance, fournir toutes les considérations générales requises pour la discussion et décrire les questions ou problèmes qui y seront traités.

 

Les propositions de table ronde seront évaluées en fonction de l’importance des recherches ou des enjeux dont elles traitent et leur potentiel pour susciter des discussions ou débats animés lors du congrès.

 

Si votre table ronde est retenue, il vous incombera de soumettre un résumé en bonne et due forme de deux pages (dactylographié à simple interligne) qui sera inclus dans les actes du congrès.  Date limite de l’envoi du résumé : le 1er avril 2009.   Les résumés reçus après cette date ne seront pas inclus dans le congrès.

 

Colloques

Un colloque fournit une occasion d’étudier certains problèmes ou sujets à partir de diverses perspectives.  Cet objectif est mieux atteint lorsque des personnes ayant des points de vue différents ou opposés sur un sujet assez vaste et important entrent en interaction.  Un colloque ne devrait pas être une simple présentation d’un ensemble de communications connexes.  Chaque colloque durera 90 minutes.  La participation de l’auditoire est encouragée.

 

Il incombe à l’organisateur d’un colloque d’identifier les sujets et les participants.  L’organisateur doit  obtenir le consentement de tous les participants avant de soumettre la proposition.  Si un organisateur ne désire pas présider la séance, il doit alors fournir le nom du président.  Si des circonstances imprévues empêchent un participant de prendre part au colloque, il incombe à l’organisateur : (1) de trouver un remplaçant adéquat et (2) d’en aviser la personne à l’ACÉÉA qui reçoit les propositions ainsi que tous les autres participants et commentateurs du colloque afin de leur permettre d’avoir accès au préalable aux résumés de chaque exposé et ainsi de préparer leurs remarques en fonction de ce que les autres ont l’intention de dire.  Les organisateurs sont priés d’encourager un tel échange d’information.

 

Seul l’organisateur sera avisé si le colloque qu’il propose est accepté ; ce sera donc sa responsabilité d’aviser les autres participants.  Les colloques devraient répondre aux questions suivantes :

 

¨      De quel enjeu ou sujet controversé s’agit-il ?  Pourquoi les andragogues devraient-ils s’en préoccuper ?

¨      À partir de quels points de vue opposés (incluant la littérature connexe) ce thème sera-t-il traité ?

¨      Sur quelle base repose le point de vue de chaque participant (expérience, littérature, sa propre recherche empirique) ?

¨      Quelles implications en matière de plan d’action ou de politiques sont susceptibles d’émerger de cette analyse ?

 

Si un colloque est retenu, il incombera à son organisateur de soumettre un résumé en bonne et due forme de huit pages (dactylographié à simple interligne) qui sera inclus dans les actes du congrès.  Date limite de l’envoi du résumé : le 1er avril 2009.   Si le résumé est reçu après cette date, le colloque ne sera pas inclus dans le congrès.

 

Le congrès 2009 de l’ACÉÉA est l’un des congrès associés au Congrès des sciences humaines.  Vous trouverez de plus amples détails au sujet du congrès 2009 de l’ACÉÉA sur le site Web au http://www.fedcan.ca/congress2009/.

 

Retournez